How to change your life in 365 days!

New Year’s resolutions are made AND some have already been broken, it’s only Day 2 into 2013. However, it’s not too late to start again.

Yes! You CAN lose the weight

Yes! You CAN stop smoking

Yes! You CAN tap into your spiritual side

Yes! You can have better credit

Yes! You CAN live a better life

Now…..Today… So what are you waiting for?

The kids need me, my spouse needs me, my job needs me, the cat needs me, I need to lose ten pounds before I dare to step foot in a gym, the semester just began, I have three exams coming up, my parents are in the hospital, my grandfather is in the hospital, the holiday season is here, I have too many bills, I don’t have time, I’ll do it next week, I’ll get to it next month, maybe next year..

And the cycle continues…

If you had a genie in a bottle, what would you wish to change by the end of this year? The simple answer to achieving the thought you just had is just do it!

Your attitudes, thoughts, and behaviors are more connected than you realize. You create change by being the change you want to see. Find out your inner passions. What are your strengths, weaknesses, talents, and god given gifts? What makes you happy, not the kids, not your spouse, not your parents, not your friends, not your employer, but what makes YOU happy?

It’s easy to get stuck in a revolving door of what is good for others instead of ourselves, there have been several moments in my own life, that I’ve awaken and told my brain to just stop, and I take a few moments to meditate on my goals and dreams to keep myself focused.

Don’t know what your passions are or how to find them? Five Steps to Finding Your Passion has great information on tapping into the life that’s meant for you. The key is determination, I can point you in all the right directions and give you tons of useful advice but, what will you do with it? Resilience is a trait of the passion driven person, they cannot be stopped. I was always told as a child how much of a hard-head I was. In my adult years that saying has transformed into go-getter. It’s not that I can’t follow rules or that I believe my way is the only way but, what I do believe, is that my way is the best way for ME.

I found out what works best for me by discovering and embracing wonderful (and not so nice) truths about myself. I’ve used this information to find out what I love to do, which is to research and write, and I’m doing it!

My question again is, what’s stopping you from taking the first step? “Nobody can go back and start a new beginning, but anyone can start today and make a new ending.” Maria Robinson Next year you may find yourself wishing you would have attempted something new this year. It’s OK to re-invent yourself. If you’re not a risk-taker like others *raises hand* begin your journey of change with baby steps. Forgive yourself for past failures, hurts, and let downs by yourself and others. Follow your heart-guide, your intuition  your gut, it’s all the same and if you tune into, listen and follow it? Your dreams can become your reality. Accept who you are as a person and use the greatness of you (we all have greatness, doesn’t matter what we’ve done, past failures, or where we come from) to propel yourself forward. Lastly, Focus on the expected end. Your NEW expected end and channel your greatness towards it!

“The important thing is this: to be ready at any moment to sacrifice what you are for what you could become.” – Charles Dickens

 

Leave a Reply

